New Year, New Goals

I’m always excited to start the new school year. Not only am I a school-supply freak but I also love the feeling fresh starts. Even though I’m going to sophomore year (already?!), I still feel like there’s so much more to discover this year. And, after a pretty tragic year in my family (I will share about my story sometime, I promise), I’m ready to tackle this new year with a new mindset. There are several upcoming things that I’m looking forward to like Model United Nation conferences and Andrey’s and I first year anniversary (again, already?!). There are some goals I would like to accomplish this new year, though. I know what you might be thinking, “Isn’t the actual new year meant for new goals?” and my response is, yes, but not really. For me, going from December 31st to January 1st, although there is a sense of newness, it isn’t as much as a big deal. I feel that, with school, you can learn so much and open so many doors.

So, that said, I have a few goals I would like to share with you. Here they are!

1. Start photography: So as you may have seen on this previous post, I’m really looking forward to starting photography and developing that skill. I plan to do a 365 photography challenge to get me started practicing. It’s going to be a fun adventure.
2. Write more: I used to write all the time (novels, poetry, short stories) but I feel like that’s been lacking lately so, although I don’t know how realistically I can expect myself to write with so much else going on during college, I hope to at least write more than I have for the last few years.
3. Get good grades: This almost goes without saying but I really want to get the best grades. This year is crucial for me because it’s the last year I can totally guarantee I can afford so getting good grades would open so many doors for me for scholarships and loans. I’m really hoping to make it!

What are your goals for the new school year? If you’re not in school, do you have any goals you want to accomplish by the end of the year?

xo, Patricia

One thought on “New Year, New Goals

Leave a Reply

