What About Photography?

61QD1V6sZtLI‘ve been obsessed with A Beautiful Mess for more than a year now and the second their book, A Beautiful Mess Photo Idea Book, came out, I dashed to the nearest Barnes and Noble to buy it. I devoured the book in a few hours and then I was left with a really empty feeling…

So for a few years (more like five) I’ve really been wanting to tackle photography. I’ve read so many books about it, been to so many websites and learned all about f/stops and shutter speed and ISO. But, there was a big problem. I never really got the DSLR I’ve always wanted and my parents (who, for their credit, keep getting me good point and shoots with high megapixel counts) always thought it was too expensive for me to get one.

But now, with the fact that I’m working, I’ve decided to splurge myself at the end of the summer and finally get a DSLR. I’ve done some reading and I’m pretty sure I want to get a Canon Rebel T2i (I’ll probably buy the kit at eBay.) Yeah, I know the kit lenses aren’t the bestest but I figured that I should be cut some slack because a) I’m just starting and b) I’m a college student. So I know my parents (or boyfriend for our first year anniversary *wink wink*) will probably not want to spend a whole bunch of dollaz for a fancy camera when they might be a bit skeptical of my photography skills. So, while I get the hang of things and develop some nice skills and good results, I plan on saving and then convincing my loved ones to gift me a lens (or two? Christmas, anyone?)

Do you have a DSLR? What kind of camera do you use? What lenses do you use? Comment below!

xo, Patricia

P.S. I’ll be doing a detailed review of the book soon.

One thought on “What About Photography?

  1. Pingback: New Year, New Goals | Me, Myself, and Boston

Leave a Reply

